Connect To Exchange Online PowerShell

Mark Harwood
4 min readMar 11, 2024

Coming back to my roots a little bit with this post. My most recent ones have been around technologies that I typically don’t handle, or write about. Feels good to come back to PowerShell and Exchange so that I can show you how to connect to Exchange online PowerShell.

I also wrote this post on my website, in case you prefer reading over there!

Introduction

I think it’s important to cover some of the groundwork that is required to answer this questions. First of all, you’ll need to have PowerShell. What is PowerShell, you say? PowerShell is often talked as the successor to the Windows Command Line or CMD. PowerShell is a command line tool and scripting language typically used create scripts for automating procedures. Although, I have used it to make games in the past!

Exchange Online from Microsoft is part of the Microsoft 365 and Office 365 suite of products. Best way to thing of this is that Exchange is the emailing product that allows the flow of emails and other services, Exchange Online is the management platform for Exchange.

Why PowerShell?

You could manage Exchange Online using a GUI product, but lets be fair. If you’re doing repetitive tasks, then PowerShell scripting is pretty much the only way to perform these tasks without…

--

--

Mark Harwood

IT Pro 👨‍💻 Dad 👀 Husband🔒 Check out my free blog or utilise my expertise on the web! https://mharwood.uk