How Do I Unpair My Apple Watch?

Mark Harwood
4 min readMar 6, 2024

If you’re lucky enough to be getting a new Apple Watch and need to know how do I unpair my Apple Watch? Then this is the post for you!

Before we start, I’ve also put this post on my website in case you prefer reading over there.

Introduction

You might need to unpair your Apple Watch for a number of reasons: technical issues; new phone; new watch; lost iPhone and many many more reasons. And unless you are planning to use 2 watches at the same time, you’ll need to unpair the old one and then pair to the new watch.

Additionally, if you are wanting to sell your Apple Watch then you’ll need to unpair your Apple Watch. If you don’t, then Apple’s Activation Lock will kick in and the watch will be rendered unless. So if you do plan to sell your watch or give it to a family member or friend, then you need both unpair and erase your Apple Watch.

I’ll also note that even if you lose your iPhone and need to pair your Apple Watch to your new iPhone, this can be done and I’ll include it as a method below!

How Do I Unpair My Apple Watch?

Unpair From Your iPhone

Before continuing, make sure that your iPhone and Apple Watch are using the latest software updates and that both devices…

--

--

Mark Harwood

IT Pro 👨‍💻 Dad 👀 Husband🔒 Check out my free blog or utilise my expertise on the web! https://mharwood.uk