I Doubled My Medium Reads… But Halved The Income?

Mark Harwood
3 min readFeb 2, 2024

Hi Everyone!

Before we get started, I’ve also put this post on my personal site in case you prefer reading over there! You can find that here.

Nope, you didn’t misread the title of this post! I managed to double my Medium reads and views whilst also someone halving the income generated from them.

I’m not 100% certain as to what caused this, but I wanted to explore some options in this post. I also wanted to be open and clear with the income my reads generate, as it’s often much less than people would expect. So, lets jump into how I doubled my Medium reads… but halved the income?

Common Belief

Okay, so the common belief is:

Double your reads = double your income

That certainly makes intuitive sense, at least to me. However, that wasn’t the case.

What what caused this? Is there a difference between new readers and following readers? Lets jump in and hopefully, I can shed some light on this situation.

The Doubling

So, at the end of 2023. My total stats for December were 553 views, 280 reads. This had been a very gradual increase over previous months as I had been slowly producing content.

I also started my longer plan to couple my personal blog, this site, and Medium together. An ethical “double-dipping” if you will as I know some people will never find my…

--

--

Mark Harwood

IT Pro 👨‍💻 Dad 👀 Husband🔒 Check out my free blog or utilise my expertise on the web! https://mharwood.uk